Monday, December 20, 2010


Diamond Bank Plc has announced the winners of its maiden award for excellence in financial reporting. The announcement, which took place at the Civic centre, Lagos recently, was the last laps of the scrutiny exercise that begun two months ago. The bank had few weeks ago, shortlisted five winners out of over thirty candidates that submitted entries for the award.

They are Emele Onu and Abiodun Eremosele of This Day, Akinola Ajibade( The Nation newspaper), Zaka Khaliq( Business World), and Helen Eni(Tell Magazine). The five winners were presented with prizes at the event.
However, The first prize of N3million went to Emele Onu, the second prize of N1.5million was given to Helen Eni, while Abiodun Eremosele got the third prize of N1million. The remaining two nominees Zaka Khalif and Akinola Ajibade got a branded laptop each.

Present at the occasion are the five-member panel set up for the award. They are Sir Chris Ogbechie, a non Executive Director of Diamond Bank, and a Lecturer at Lagos Business School, Mr Eniola Bello( the Managing Director of This Day newspaper), Mr Frank Aigbogun, Publisher of Business Day newspaper), Mr Ray Echebiri, Editor in Chief of Business world).

Others are the Mr Emeka Onwuka(Managing Director, Diamond Bank), former Governor, Ogun State, Chief Segun Osoba, Mrs Abike Dabiri( a former Broadcaster, and Chairman, House Committee on Diaspora), among several others.
Onwuka said the event has opened another chapter in the history of the bank, and indeed the Nigeria’s journalism landscape. He said the award aims at celebrating people who have promoted the financial services industry through responsible and professional journalism. He said the bank, as part of efforts at recognizing excellence in all fields of human endeavours, instituted the award recently.
"the award will go a long way towards motivating these exceptional individuals to pursue excellence in their chosen profession. Also, it will help improve the standard of journalism in Nigeria", he added.

Osoba, in announcing the winners, said the event marked a major landmark in the history of journalism profession. He said his presence at the occasion, was to appreciate the pioneering efforts of the bank in the area of recognizing good journalistic works, and colleagues. He said he was thrilled by the gesture of the bank to honour excellence in the media.